QUASIKUNST / Tanja Brandmayr
DEEP DRILLING FOR CONTRACTS
Soundhole / Loop
Basement
Continuous

Quasikunst is systemic-performative art research since several years. Depending on the project, it calls out coordinates, increases and performs contradictions.

In 2019 and under the title „Deep Drilling for Contracts“, Quasikunst will dig down a sound hole in the basement of STWST. Underground: The knocking out of power/BUSINESS from nature is a core competence of our early industrial/CULTURAL history. 12 seconds of metallic hammering as a looped and stretched sound essence of an early ring mythology that negotiates the transition from pre-modern to modern in the late 19th century: First dig down and knock ore out of the mountain, then use technological voodoo to forge a ring, and this was followed by contracts and capital. Even at the beginning everyone was unhappy. Many years later, now: Smart. Individual. A deeper core. The end of contracts made so far. Business at a turning point. Exploitation as ever. We just keep digging down. Deep Drilling for NEW Contracts.


The sound from the depth is a quote from Wagner's “Rheingold” and the 19th century, when new treaties were made between sovereign and nature. The quoted musical passage consists in the original of a few seconds of hammering from conceived 16 forges and is located in the depths of the earth, at the bottom of exploitation. The quoted sound was looped and stretched with a very high factor until EVERYTHING is almost superimposed by effect.



This work is part of Quasikunst - with text reference Processes that do not understand themselves


Connection to The Unfinished Language


Tanja Brandmayr (AT) has been working for many years and in different contexts between text, staging and art. Art and context research Quasikunst in cooperation with STWST. Also editor and author for art and culture magazines. Lives in Linz/Austria. http://quasikunst.stwst.at, http://brandjung.servus.at





Image: Deep
Foto: tanjab



Documentation

QUASIKUNST / Tanja Brandmayr
DEEP DRILLING FOR CONTRACTS
Soundloch / Loop
Keller
Durchgehend

Wir graben einfach runter. Das Herausschlagen von Macht/BUSINESS aus der Natur als Kernkompetenz unserer frühen Industrie/KULTURgeschichte. 12 Sekunden metallisches Gehämmere als geloopte und gestretchte Soundessenz einer Ring-Mythologie, die im späten 19. Jahrhundert den Übergang der Vormoderne zur Moderne verhandelt: Zuerst runtergraben und Erz aus dem Berg schlagen, dann durch technologischen Voodoo einen goldenen Ring der Macht schmieden, dann folgen Verträge und Kapital. Schon zu Beginn sind alle unglücklich. Viele Jahre später, jetzt: Smart. Individual. DEEP Core. Das Ende der bisherigen gemachten Verträge. Business am Wendepunkt. Ausbeutung as ever. Wir graben einfach weiter runter. Deep Drilling for NEW Contracts.


Der Sound aus der Tiefe ist ein Zitat auf Wagners „Rheingold“ und das 19. Jahrhundert, als neue Verträge zwischen Souverän und Natur gemacht wurden. Die zitierte musikalische Passage besteht im Original aus wenigen Sekunden Gehämmere von konzipiert 16 Schmieden und ist in der Tiefe der Erde, am Grund der Ausbeutung angesiedelt. Der zitierte Sound wurde gelooped und mit einem sehr hohen Faktor zeitlich gestretched, bis ALLES beinahe nur mehr durch Effekt überlagert ist



Diese Arbeit ist Teil von Quasikunst - Textreferenz Vorgänge, die sich selber nicht verstehen


Connection to The Unfinished Language

Tanja Brandmayr (AT) arbeitet in unterschiedlichen Zusammenhängen zwischen Text, Inszenierung und Kunst. In den letzten Jahren Fokus auf textlich-performative und erweiterte Formate. Kunst- und Kontextresearch Quasikunst in Koop mit der STWST. Außerdem Redakteurin und Autorin für die Kunst- und Kulturhefte: Die Referentin, Versorgerin. Lebt in Linz/Österreich. http://quasikunst.stwst.at, http://brandjung.servus.at




Image: Deep
Foto: tanjab



Dokumentation